Prestigious Literary Awards for UH Community College Faculty

Ann Inoshita and Derek N. Otsuji

Assistant Professor at Leeward Community College Ann Inoshita and Honolulu CC Associate Professor Derek N. Otsuji were named this year’s recipients of the Elliot Cades Awards for Literature, the most prestigious literary honor in Hawaii. The Inoshita Prize is awarded to an established author and the Otsuji Prize to an emerging author.

Ann Inoshita

Inoshita teaches English at Leeward CCearned a master’s degree from the University of Hawaii in Mānoa, and was an active member of Hawaiithe community of writers. She is the author of Manoa Creekan acclaimed 2007 book of poems, and has been published in collections such as Random House’s Coil Verse (2019) which include many nationally acclaimed poets.

His pidgin poem “Japan Trip” was published this year in They Rise Like a Wave: An Anthology of Asian American Poets. Inoshita has also participated with other poets in several renshi (a form of collaborative poetry), including No choice but to follow and What you must rememberin which each writer posts a poem constrained by the last line of the previous poet’s poem.

His work has been published in bamboo ridge, Review of Hawaii Literature and Artsand Hawaii Pacific Review. In 2016, Inoshita helped create The Reading Room, a collection of recordings of interviews and readings by local authors.

Two people in a reading room
Host Ann Inoshita and guest Juliet S. Kono on set

Hawaii literature has diverse voices rich in culture and language. It is an honor to receive this award,” said Inoshita.

She has also participated with other poets in several renshi (a form of collaborative poetry) projects, including No Choice but to Follow and What We Must Remember with poets Juliet S. Kono, Christy Passion and Jean Yamasaki Toyama, in which each writer publishes a poem constrained by the last line of the previous poet’s poem.

Derek N. Otsuji

born on OʻahuOtsuji teaches English in Honolulu CC and is the author of The early hours kitchen, a volume of poetry selected by Brian Turner as one of two winners of the Crab Orchard Poetry Series competition which was published last year by Southern Illinois University Press. He is a 2019 Tennessee Williams Fellow (Sewanee Writers Conference) and has received awards from Loaf and the Kenyon Review.

His poems are widely published in local, national and international journals, including 32 poems, bamboo crest, The Poetry of Beloit Log, Bennington Review, Cincinnati Review, crazy horse, Pleiades, Rattle, The Southern Review and The Threepenny Review.

He won first place in the Eisteddfod crown competition and studied writing with the late Welsh poet Leslie Norris.

Find out more about the Cades prizes

The Cades Prizes have been awarded annually since 1988. They were established by Charlotte and J. Russell Cades in memory of Elliot, a teacher and literature lover. The rewards include a cash prize for the winners. The awards were announced by the Hawaii Literary Arts Council, and will be presented at 4 p.m. on October 1, as part of the 2022 edition Hawaii Book and music festival.

About Adam Gray

Check Also

Elon University / Today in Elon / Sigma Delta Pi Hispanic Honor Society Recognizes 10 Students

The Sigma Delta Pi Honor Society recognizes students who excel in the study of the …