Agema, Oriogun and Dzukogi Compete for $100,000 Nigerian Literature Prize – The Eagle Online

The Advisory Board of the Nigerian Prize for Literature has announced The memory and the call of the water by Su’eddie Vershima Agema, Nomadic by Romeo Oriogun and Your cradle, my Qibla by Saddiq Dzukogi as finalists for the 2022 edition of the Nigerian Prize for Literature.

The announcement is contained in a statement signed in Port Harcourt, capital of Rivers State, by Andy Odeh, LNG’s Managing Director, External Relations and Sustainable Development.

The Literature Prize is sponsored by Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) with a cash prize of $100,000.

Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, Chairman of the Advisory Board, announced the shortlist during a social media live stream of the Prize.

The books according to the statement were selected from a long list of 11, recently announced by the Council. 287 books were entered in the competition, which focused on poetry.

According to the Council, The memory and the call of the water is a collection that constantly uses memory to reflect on life and destiny through the metaphor of waterNomadic has fresh language and a nostalgic engagement with themes of exile and displacement, while Your cradle, my Qibla translates tragedy into lyrical poetry with effortless pathos and imagery.

The statement reads in part: “The judges will decide the outcome, which will be announced by the advisory board on 14e October 2022. The Council will also announce the verdict of the 2022 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism.

“The Jury includes: Sule Emmanuel Egya, who is the President of the Jury and Professor of African Literature and Cultural Studies at Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State. The other judges are Toyin Adewale-Gabriel and Dike Chukwumerije. Adewale-Gabriel is a poet and novelist. Dike Chukwumerije is a spoken word and performance poet, and an award-winning author.

“The Advisory Board also announced the appointment of Professor Susan Nalugwa Kigulias is the international consultant for this year’s award. She is a Ugandan poet and literary scholar. She is an Associate Professor of Literature at Makerere University. Professor Kiguli was a judge for the Commonwealth Writers Prize (African Region, 1999) and a member of the Advisory Board of the African Writers Trust. As a poet, his 1998 collection The African Sagawon the National Book Trust of Uganda Poetry Award (1999) and marked the country’s literary history by selling out in less than a year. Her poetry has been featured in numerous journals and anthologies both nationally and internationally.

“The other members of the advisory board are: Professor Olu Obafemi and Professor Ahmed Yerima.

“The Nigerian Literature Prize rotates between four literary categories every year – prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature”.

About Adam Gray

Check Also

Elon University / Today in Elon / Sigma Delta Pi Hispanic Honor Society Recognizes 10 Students

The Sigma Delta Pi Honor Society recognizes students who excel in the study of the …